Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Throwing in the towel

John
Expert on Something

Throwing in the towel

Postby John » July 22nd, 2008 6:13 pm

I am very depressed about my progression with Korean, I have been studying on and off for over four years now and I have noticed that people who have only been studying for a few months have passed me up. I don't have any live face to face type instruction, and I believe that's the biggest hold up to my learning.

I only get more and more deflated every time I study so I don't think it's conducive to my over all health to continue. Maybe someday I'll find a way to continue, but for now I am going to just step aside. :( :( :(

Bouks
Expert on Something

Postby Bouks » July 22nd, 2008 6:28 pm

John, don't leave! When it comes to languages, you really can't compare people, there's so much learning difference. I've been studying for about 5 months now, and while I can pronounce things fairly accurately, I still can't string a sentence together on my own, or hold a conversation. So don't be fooled by my one snazzy sound clip (I read romanization!) and my video homework that took me millions of years to rehearse.

I am not even going to have as much time as before, but I am still going to plod away, and hope you will too.

To further make you feel better: I was all excited about the Lower Intermediate lessons coming out, but now that I've tried to study a few, I can definitely say they are too hard for me. (Sorry, Hyunwoo.) So that, plus my new time limitations, keep me squarely in Beginner level, and that's where I'll stay. So you stay, too. You and I are the kids in the back row, throwing spitballs at the other students. If you go, I will be so busted. :shock:
On Skype, I'm nenuphar_ (just like that with the underline character ending)

I invite you to check out my new blog about linguistics, translation and culture:
www.shadesofmeaning.wordpress.com