Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Weird People

the_haunted_boy
Expert on Something

Weird People

Postby the_haunted_boy » May 22nd, 2008 12:54 am

Before I get into the question I must rant about something! :D I bet bored easily, :shock: that is why I am studying Korean because it is entertaining and takes up a lot of my time. I like to spend a lot of my money on expensive textbooks. Most of them do teach me a lot of language, but not a lot of culture so I am confused about something. When I am in public and do not have my mp3 player with KoreanClass101 on it or my other Korean textbooks I entertain myself by doing other things in public. Sometimes I go into a coffee shop and after I order my thing I ask the person to slap me. Sometimes when I am in the mall I tell the cashier he/she is pretty after buying my stuff. Also I dress up all the time like everyday is a Sci-Fi convention or a Renaissances fair. I yell at crickets.
My question is: (drum roll)
Are Korean people used to seeing weird people (like me) in public?

javiskefka
Expert on Something

Postby javiskefka » May 22nd, 2008 1:06 am

From my experience, I would think that they would either:

A. Assume that you're trying to sell them something or otherwise get their money
B. Try to discreetly get a good look at you to find out just what was going on, but not draw further attention to you

Join by May 6th
austinfd
Expert on Something

Re: Weird People

Postby austinfd » May 22nd, 2008 2:56 am

the_haunted_boy wrote:Sometimes I go into a coffee shop and after I order my thing I ask the person to slap me. Sometimes when I am in the mall I tell the cashier he/she is pretty after buying my stuff.