Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Help with sentences. Very new to Hangeul.

joshuanadon3960
New in Town

Help with sentences. Very new to Hangeul.

Postby joshuanadon3960 » March 3rd, 2012 8:48 am

안녕하세요, 나 조아하다 당신의 신발/ Annyeonghaseyo, na joahhada dangshineui shinbal. / Hello, I like your shoes.

나의 이름 은 조슈아/ Naeui ileum eun Josyua./ My name is Joshua

I've come to understand a bit of the characters themselves ( The sounds they make and such ), but I'm not very good at the word themselves, along with the etiquette. Could you tell me all I did right, and all I did wrong?

madisonk6013
KoreanClass101.com Team Member

Re: Help with sentences. Very new to Hangeul.

Postby madisonk6013 » March 5th, 2012 2:33 am

joshuanadon3960 wrote:안녕하세요, 나 조아하다 당신의 신발/ Annyeonghaseyo, na joahhada dangshineui shinbal. / Hello, I like your shoes.

I've come to understand a bit of the characters themselves ( The sounds they make and such ), but I'm not very good at the word themselves, along with the etiquette. Could you tell me all I did right, and all I did wrong?

Hi Josh,

This is Madison from Koreanclass101.com! :)

You have all correct words for Koreans but there is few that are missing!

The biggest difference between English and Korean is we use verb at the last moment. While English is Subject Verb then Object or so, Korean is Subject Object then Verb.

So for your first sentence which is I Like Your Shoes, it would be 나는 당신의 신발을 조아하다. would be better way to say!

For second one , it is perfect but if you would like to make it formal, it would be 나의 이름은 조슈아 입니다. Which 입니다 is verb for formal version.

Hope this helped and let us know any time if you have any questions!

But you're doing great job! ;)

Thank you,

Madison, Koreanclass101.com

Get 30% OFF Premium & Premium PLUS
trutherous
Expert on Something

Postby trutherous » March 5th, 2012 8:32 am

조아하다 :arrow: "좋아하다" 아닐까요?

trutherous
Expert on Something