Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

desperately need help

sarahelaine
New in Town

desperately need help

Postby sarahelaine » April 15th, 2008 11:14 pm

I am a preschool teacher who had twins from Korea dropped off in my class today. I don't know any Korean and they don't know any English. I need to know very basic words such as hello, hungry, bathroom, more, nap, clean up, yes, no, etc. I also need a phrase such as "it's okay" to comfort them. Please give us any help that you can.

bewolff
New in Town

quick and dirty korean

Postby bewolff » April 16th, 2008 12:12 am

this is typed with American English romanization for quick pronunciation...

ask questions with a rising tone
speaking them too slowly might make it harder to understand. don't be afraid to say them a little quick. acting when saying them will add to understanding. hold your stomach when you say "a-po?"

hua jang shil-------bathroom
pe-go pa? -----hurngry?
a-po? -----hurt?
pee-gon-hae yo? -----tired?
anyong , or anyong ha sae yo-----hello/good bye
a-nyo!-----No!
nae-----yes
it's ok------kwen cha na yo (the "a's" pronounced like "a" in "father)

Good luck with this.

Get 40% OFF Forever Discount
austinfd
Expert on Something

Postby austinfd » April 16th, 2008 1:34 am

heres a few more that might be helpful:

clean-up: chawn so hey bwa (that vowel "chawn" isn't quite as strong as lawn... the standard english spelling is "cheon" but that never helped me when I was learning!

more: taw again, the vowel isn't spelled well in English, in this word it rhymes with "saw"

now: chigum

later: najoon-ae "ae" means long /a/ vowel sound

I'm making some videos!: http://www.youtube.com/user/austinfd

Keith
Expert on Something

Postby Keith » April 16th, 2008 1:40 am

Thanks for helping out Beowulf :)

Here's another few words that might be able to help you out (not using the standard romanization we typically use):