Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

First impressions of KoreanClass101 Newbie/Beginner series

franklinhu3940
New in Town

First impressions of KoreanClass101 Newbie/Beginner series

Postby franklinhu3940 » March 27th, 2011 3:50 am

I have been working with KoreanClass101 for about 9 months and I have gotten through Newbie season 1-3 and Absolute Beginner series 1. I have been gathering my observations, so this may be a rather long post, but here goes...

I started by getting the introductory package (Getting Started with Korean) that they say you can only get when you first sign up for $9. That seemed to be a reasonable deal. They make it seem like you're going to get a pile of disks, but they really just send you 2 disks. One of them contains the first season 1 from the Newbie and Beginner series along with some additional random material. The other disk is an interview which inspires you to learn the language to the point that if you are confronted with a native speaker, you can actaually speak it instead of retreating back to your normal tongue.

While I was expecting to get charged $9, it also appeared that I had been signed up for the monthly $9 basic membership charge. I noticed this as I was looking at my membership status. I was not informed that taking the intro package would automatically sign me up, so I immediately cancelled the subscription. I was not informed that this would happen, so I wasn't pleased that I was signed up. I don't mind being signed up if I am told about it and have the opportunity to opt out, but this just seemed sneaky.