Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Object market particle, honorific suffixes..

kutepriscilla2915
New in Town

Object market particle, honorific suffixes..

Postby kutepriscilla2915 » September 3rd, 2010 4:23 pm

When do you use the object market particle, honorific suffixes and how do you know which one to use?

mtothealcolm
New in Town

Postby mtothealcolm » September 20th, 2010 8:36 pm

i'm still learning myself, but let me give this question a try.

the honorific suffixes are used anytime you should show honor to someone. so that would include anyone older than you, anyone in a position of authority over you, groups of people(although, i'm unsure how small the group can be while still having to use honorifics. i wonder if you would need to use them with a group of two) and people you just meet(i would think this doesn't include people obviously much younger that you just meet).

as a side note: if you use honorifics with a friend about the same age or younger, they will think you sound strange.

as for the object particle marker, the lonely planet says it's used to indicate the noun or pronoun that's affected by the verb.
example: the marker is 을 or 를
i read a book
책을 읽어요.
the book(책) is the noun that you do something to, in this case read(읽다) so it gets the object marker 을.

another example,
He drinks coffee everyday.
그분은 매일 커피를 마시다
coffee(커피) needs the 를 because it is being acted on.

it can be in other situations too such as
공부를 하다
literally: study do
but usually in this case the 를 is omitted, and the words are combined.

one more example, the object marker is very useful for distinguishing who does what.
남자가 여자를 키스했어요
boy가 girl를 kissed.
we know the boy did the action, and the girl was acted upon because of the articles.

hope that helps

Get 40% OFF Forever Discount
timandyou
Expert on Something

Hello kutepriscilla2915 & mtothealcolm,

Postby timandyou » September 21st, 2010 12:58 am