Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Pronounciation of 있

PikaPikaChick
New in Town

Pronounciation of 있

Postby PikaPikaChick » May 14th, 2010 1:08 pm

I posted this in Absolute Beginner lesson 2 but thought I might try here too. Obviously I'm very much a newbie. :)

I’m so confused about 있. So that last character (ㅆ) is pronounced with a hard “T” sound as opposed to hard “S” sound? Why isn’t it ㄸ? Is this the only instance where the pronunciation changes?

Just when I think I have a grip on reading Hangul you guys throw a wrench in. :P

manyakumi
Expert on Something

Postby manyakumi » May 15th, 2010 2:47 pm

There are only 7 sounds for ending consonant in Korean language and those are ㄱ,ㄴ,ㄷ,ㄹ,ㅁ,ㅂ,ㅇ

ㄱ,ㅋ -> ㄱ
ㄷ,ㅅ,ㅈ,ㅊ,ㅌ,ㅎ -> ㄷ
ㅂ,ㅍ -> ㅂ

있 is pronounced as 읻 by itself,
but ㅆ sound revives when a vowel comes right after it.

있다 - 읻다 - 이따 (itta)
있고 - 읻고 - 이꼬 (ikko)
있는 - 읻는 - 인는 (inneun)
있어 - 이써 (isseo)

Hope this helps!
:-)

Get 40% OFF Forever Discount
trutherous
Expert on Something

Postby trutherous » May 17th, 2010 2:36 am

Thanks to manyakumi for his detailed explation. I thought about trying to explain this but for some reason I could not remember the word 'revive' when explaining how the final consonant sound carries over to a vowel sound. This is very important to remember.

있 is pronounced as 읻 by itself,
but ㅆ sound revives when a vowel comes right after it.

As a westerner learning Korean I would like to add a little more on the pronunciation because the example given by manyakumi might slightly misdirect a westerner first learning Hangul (like as it was in my case). But first I would like to add that a student should strive to reach the point where 있 is pronounced like 있, what I mean is that it should not be compared with any other phonetic system, because tying Hangul into another system keeps the mind a prisoner of that other system.

so for '이' using 'ee' as in 'see' --