a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

billboards in Korean

kzuraw
New in Town

billboards in Korean

Postby kzuraw » April 25th, 2009 12:55 am

안녕하세요, 여러분!

I'm a beginner, so usually when I see a Korean billboard here in Los Angeles I'm happy to just sound it out and maybe recognize a word or two.

But this weekend I stumbled across a billboard (on Wilshire between Vermont and Normandie somewhere) that I could actually understand :!:

같이먹으면 더 맛있다....아침은 맥도날드

If I understand right, this could be translated something like "When you eat together, it's more delicious...McDonald's breakfast". This may not be very exciting to most of you, but for me it was THRILLING.

Anyway, I just had to share that, and wanted to know if anyone has seen any interesting/funny/surprising Korean-language billboards, whether in Korea or elsewhere!

Chris1
Established Presence

Postby Chris1 » April 25th, 2009 1:20 am

Awesome! It really becomes a good gauge of your general understanding as you continue studying... It can really be a good sense of accomplishment. The "아침은 맥도날드." carries more of the nuance of "McDonalds for breakfast" as in "Eat McDonald's for breakfast," but it essentially means the same thing.

This is one of my favorites (by 강남 in 서울) that I took last year.

Get 40% OFF Forever Discount
holdfast
Expert on Something

Postby holdfast » April 25th, 2009 1:48 am

Chris1 wrote:This is one of my favorites (by 강남 in 서울) that I took last year.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA!!!!!!!!

that is amazing.
안녕하세요~ 에밀리입니다~~ ^^
korean blog: http://holdfasthope.wordpress.com
youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/sendmetokorea

matthew254
Expert on Something

Postby matthew254 » April 25th, 2009 2:54 am

nicely done, kzuraw! That is certainly one of those "hot damn!" moments that is worth sharing :)

kyuree
Expert on Something

Re: billboards in Korean

Postby kyuree » April 25th, 2009 8:11 am

kzuraw wrote:안녕하세요, 여러분!