Page 2 of 4

Posted: January 25th, 2009 11:58 pm
by erich
kyuree wrote:
erich wrote:
kyuree wrote:Erich, how did you end up being an IT specialist w/ a German degree ^^


Hehe, that's what one calls to make a living from one's hobby ;)


ok but then why did you study German??

Basically because I grew up in a French speaking environment with German as a mother tongue. So I wanted to get more proficient in my "mother tongue" which I still know less than French.

Also, in many cases, people don't study what they are going to do for work. Studies means especially to develop one's way of thinking (analysis, synthesis), being able to read complex papers (and write some too) etc... What field the study is in, is secondary. I also studied history and latin but didn't end as historian or latin teacher...

Posted: January 26th, 2009 2:51 am
by Taliana
Alexis wrote:H
Taliana: you came to Australia? Where did you go?


I was born in England and moved to Australia when I was 3. Then when I was 20 I came back to live in England again :D I lived in NSW, in the Illawarra area, an hour or so south of Sydney.

Posted: January 26th, 2009 8:21 pm
by pucca246
Name: Pamela
Age: 48 (only thing bad about Korea is I am 50!!!)
Place of birth: England
Furthest location travelled: Korea
Places you want to go: Back to Korea , - Japan, (Plan to do both this year)
Spoken languages: English and a tiny bit of Korean
Written Languages: Same as above
Languages in the process of learning: Korean
Hobbies: Chatting to people in different countries, travel, k-dramas and movies
Occupation: Part time photo technician
Education: a long time ago!!
Favorite Movies: Millionairs 1st Love, Meet Joe Black, A Knights Tale, plus many more - oh and most Jonny Depp films!
Favorite Bands: 동방신기, 하동균, Genesis,
Favorite Video Games: None - don't have time!
Ultimate Goal: To have a conversation in Korean!

Posted: January 27th, 2009 1:12 am
by jintana23
안녕하세요 Pamela 언니
I'm glad to know that there is someone here that I can call 언니. I'm jealous you that you had a chance to visit Korean. I myself dream of going there some day.

Travel to Korea

Posted: January 27th, 2009 1:56 pm
by dudeguy
I have lived in Korea twice. Both times were with the Army from the US. I lived in Donguchon the first time and Daegu the second. I liked living in the Northern Part of Korea but LOVED Daegu! My wife is from Namhae and we have made many trips down there to hang out on the beach and just enjoy the scenery. I am learning Korean because when I try to speak Korean to my wife's mom she gives me funny looks :lol:

Posted: January 28th, 2009 12:29 am
by ladelia
Saw this thread and thought this was the perfect place for my first post on here.

Name: Laura
Age: 33
Place of birth: United States
Furthest location travelled: Bahamas
Places you want to go: Korea, Australia
Spoken languages: English, a little bit of French, even smaller amount of Spanish
Written Languages: English
Languages in the process of learning: Korean
Hobbies: Cooking, reading, learning
Occupation: Bookkeeper (i play with numbers all day)
Education: BA in Psychology
Favorite Movies: I love movies, but do not have a favorite.
Favorite Bands: Same thing. I love music, but do not have a favorite.
Favorite Video Games: Strategy games in general.
Ultimate Goal: Happiness

About me

Posted: January 28th, 2009 9:50 am
by dudeguy
Age:39
Nationality: American
Currently located: Iraq
Furthest locations traveled: Korea, Japan, everywhere in the USA
Languages: A little Spanish, a little Korean
Hobbies: Running, guitar, Karaoke :)
Occupation: US Army for another 15 months
Education: Associate's in Business Management, pending BS in Info Systems Management
Movies: Silmido, ALL things Star Wars
Favorite video games- none
Future goals: Run a 100 mile run, Masters in Info Systems, make it through life without killing anyone in a fit of rage :twisted:

Posted: January 28th, 2009 12:55 pm
by crewpanda22
Name: Amanda/ 아맨다
Age: 23 (25 in Korea)
Place of birth: New York, USA
Furthest location travelled: Bahamas
Places you want to go: Paris, Venice, Korea
Spoken languages: English, French I would like to think (I studied it for 8 years), a small bit of Italian
Written Languages: English and French if I'm optimistic
Languages in the process of learning: Korean
Hobbies: Studying Korean!, baking, running, my wonderful Korean boyfriend :P
Occupation: PhD student
Education: Bachelor of Science, pursuing my PhD in chemistry
Favorite Movies: Donnie Darko, 2046, Lord of the Rings, Love Actually, The Last Samurai, Stranger than Fiction, Wall-E
Favorite Bands: Daft Punk, Infected Mushroom, Akon, Idan Raichel, Radiohead, The Postal Service, MIA, usually anything techno/electronic
Favorite Video Games: Mario on N64, Zelda, Guitar Hero, Rock Band, Halo
Ultimate Goal: To be able to speak fluently in Korean to my boyfriend AND become a successful chemist!

Posted: January 28th, 2009 4:07 pm
by karen
I have been around kc101 for over a year now but haven't been that active with it. I'm trying to make a better habit now.

Name: Karen 캐렌
Age: 24
Place of birth: USA
Currently located: Seoul, South Korea
Furthest location travelled: I think that Australia is probably the furthest from Kansas where I grew up.
Places you want to go: I plan on making it to all 7 continents. So far I have been to North and South America, Australia, and Asia.
Spoken languages: English, a bit of Korea
Written Languages: English and again a bit of Korean
Languages in the process of learning: Korean
Hobbies: Sewing, knitting, reading, yoga, baking
Occupation: for the next month I am unemployed but then will return to teaching English
Education: Bachelor's of Fine Arts
Favorite Movies: I'm a Cyborg but That's Okay (I'm too lazy to look up the Korean name right now), Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Fifth Element, Amelie, most of Wes Anderson's movies, and so many more
Favorite Bands: 빅뱅, Epik High, Little Boots, Rihanna, Clazziquai
Favorite Video Games: I'm not a fan
Ultimate Goal: To be comfortable with my life and to make hats and clothing.

Posted: January 28th, 2009 5:28 pm
by Alexis
Thanks for replying, guys! It's nice to get to know you all a bit better! :)

Posted: January 28th, 2009 6:05 pm
by kyuree
Alexis wrote:Thanks for replying, guys! It's nice to get to know you all a bit better! :)


thanks for the idea, Alexis!

It's interesting to see that quite a lot of members are actually around my age :D

Posted: February 19th, 2009 1:06 pm
by Alexis
I forgot ALLLLLLLL about this topic! :P

Kyuree: I'm kind of surprised that there are so many people around my age, too! I thought for sure, I'd be one of the oldest people here! :shock: But I'm glad people are around my age! Here I was freaking out that I was too old to learn another language! I guess you're never too old to learn, though, right? :wink:

I love how there's such a broad range of people studying Korean! ^_^ I think that's so great. :D

dudeguy: You're in the army?! How do you get time to study another language?! (Is that a stupid question?? :roll: )

Thanks again, guys for replying (even though this topic is so old now! LOL).

Posted: February 20th, 2009 9:17 pm
by dudeguy
Well, right now I'm in Iraq and due to the nature of my job I have LOTS of free time. Besides, if it's important you make the time :wink: ! I don't think that age means as much as it used to. When I was younger I would look at people that were 39 and they were over the hill but I'm no where near that way. I'm still running circles (literally) around people half my age.

Posted: February 21st, 2009 2:01 am
by ash4jae
Name: Ashley
Age: 14 (I know, I'm such a baby)
Place of birth: England
Furthest location travelled: Spain (only time abroad)
Places you want to go: Seoul, Osaka
Spoken languages: English
Written Languages: English
Languages in the process of learning: Korean, French
Hobbies: Listening to music, annoying people, learning Korean
Occupation: Student
Education: Still in High School hehe
Favorite Movies: Two Brothers?
Favorite Bands: 30 Seconds To Mars, 동방신기
Favorite Video Games: Oblivion
Ultimate Goal: To live and work in Korea, hopefully researching cancer. Got to learn Korean first though :( I only joined today, still on the newbie series

Posted: February 21st, 2009 9:21 am
by Ulver_684
Name: Sindy Rodriguez Cisneros
Age: 24
Place of birth: Mexico City
Furthest location travelled: New York
Places you want to go: Japan, Korea, France, Norway, etc
Spoken languages: English, Spanish
Written Languages: English, Spanish
Languages in the process of learning: Japanese, Korean, French, Noriwgean
Hobbies: Listening to music, Play video games, Surf the web, Go to the movies, etc
Occupation: College Student
Education: Some College
Favorite Movies: None
Favorite Bands: All JPop, JRock, KPop Bands
Favorite Video Games: FF Trilogy, Resident Evil Trilogy, Silent Hill Trilogy, Street Fighter Trilogy, etc, etc
Ultimate Goal: To travel around the world and speak Japanese, Korean, French and Noriwgean. :D