Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Troubles in Pronounciation

ciarawilliams946425
New in Town

Troubles in Pronounciation

Postby ciarawilliams946425 » January 2nd, 2014 2:43 am

I'm an absolute beginner, and as such, one of the first things I want to learn is how to properly pronounce sounds. So there's only a few I'm having trouble figuring out the differences in sound. One is 어 & 오. Next, 여 and 요. Also 으 and 우. They all sound like "o","yo", and "u" respectively. I'm having difficulty pronouncing ㅈ,ㅊ,ㅂ,ㄱand ㄷ. Could someone assist me? Maybe there's a certain English that could better help me understand the right pronunciation?

fej4955
Been Around a Bit

Re: Troubles in Pronounciation

Postby fej4955 » January 2nd, 2014 11:50 pm

Try this internet page
http://www.sayjack.com/korean/hangul/quiz/
I have learned most of the pronunciation from there. I think it took, like, four months or so. If you check more on the section of Korean, there are guides for grammar and pronunciation rules.

What I would recommend, is that you patiently try to listen to the pronunciation and guess what character is being pronunced. That what is little problematic is with the doubble- , single- and asphirated consonants. Learning that might take time.

As always forvo (google it) is an excellent source for any language to check the correct pronunciation.

Get 40% OFF
korea.innovative
Been Around a Bit

Re: Troubles in Pronounciation

Postby korea.innovative » January 22nd, 2014 3:34 am