a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

"must see tips" for a short trip to seoul

nilfisq
Been Around a Bit

"must see tips" for a short trip to seoul

Postby nilfisq » November 5th, 2008 10:33 am

Hello all! 안뇽하세요!
On 21 and 22 November I'll be in Seoul for work (airline crew) and I'll have one and a half day to visit the city.
- What are the things one really must see on a first trip (apart from the palaces)? Also less touristic tips are welcome.
- Is there a good bookstore which provides learning material and Korean literature translated into English? (I am an enthousiastic newbie)
- Does anyone know of websites/books with (self guided) walking tours?
- Nice, fancy, hip (gay?) bars?
- Any other tips?
Really looking forward to your replies. :lol:

Chris1
Established Presence

Postby Chris1 » November 5th, 2008 9:37 pm

I think one of the best experiences in Seoul is to go up to the Seoul tower (a.k.a. Namsan Tower). You have to do it at night; it is an amazing experience.

You can go to Kyobo bookstore that has an entrance right outside one of the exits at Gwanghwamun station (Line 5 - Purple). I don't remember the exit number. It has a lot of good material.

I'm not really into palaces either, but my personal favorite and a must-see is Gyeongbokgung (경복궁). It's right near Anguk-dong and Jongro 3 Ga. It has nice mountains in the background and is very pretty during the day.

As far as bars are concerned, the Korean atmosphere is different. I definitely recommend going with at least one other person otherwise you might feel a little out of place. I haven't been to very many bars, but some of the best are in Gangnam (Line 2).

Considering your timeframe, you'll have to prioritize your activities, but these are my personal favorites. Definitely go to the Seoul tower if you can't do anything else.

Get 30% OFF Premium & Premium PLUS
nilfisq
Been Around a Bit

Postby nilfisq » November 6th, 2008 8:01 am

Thanks a lot Chris!