Or sign up using Facebook

About TOPIC PARTICLE - 은 [eun] & 는 [neun]

timandyou
Expert on Something

About TOPIC PARTICLE - 은 [eun] & 는 [neun]

Postby timandyou » March 29th, 2011 7:27 am

Hello everyone~~ :o
This is Tim from KC101.com.
Throughout this post, I'd like to talk about 'Topic Particles - 은 [eun] & 는 [neun]'.
Please keep this in mind though - to clearly explain the difference between 'SUBJECT particles (이/가)' and 'TOPIC particles (은/는)' is really hard.
In many cases, both 이/가 and 은/는 are interchangeable. (to know the difference between two requires a lot of study and experience in Korean).

This topic is already covered in "Absolute Beginner Season 2 Lesson 3".

1. What does "Topic Particle" mean?
=> This particles (은 / 는) are used to make a noun the TOPIC under discussion.

For example, let's take a look at a simple sentence of "this is a desk"...
In that sentence, what is the topic? YES, the topic is "this".
In that sentence, what is the verb? YES, the verb is "is".
In that sentence, what's the complement? YES, the complement is "a desk".

Now, let's translate each element into Korean.
a. the subject - "this" - is 이것 [i-geot]
b. the verb - "is" - is 이다 [ida] / 입니다 [imnida].
c. the complement - "a desk" - is 책상 [chak-sang].
so, all together, "this is a desk" is "이것 + 책상 + 이다 => 이것 책상이다" or "이것 + 책상 + 입니다 => 이것 책상입니다"
HOWEVER, it's NOT all (why? because it's not a sentence!) You have to attach 은 [eun] or 는 [neun] right after the TOPIC - "this" 이것.
THEREFORE, it becomes 이것 + 은 => 이것은. Finally, the correct translation is 이것은 책상입니다.

2. Here is the formation of 은 [eun] / 는 [neun].
a NOUN (Topic) + 은 [eun] or 는 [neun]

3. Then, here is a question! When do we use 은 [eun] over 는 [neun]? when do we use 는 [neun] over 은 [eun]?
The rule is simple!

a. If the noun ends WITH a consonant (with a 받침), attach 은 [eun] right after 'the NOUN'. (이 + 은 => 이것은)
b. If the noun ends WITHOUT a consonant (without a 받침), attach 는 [neun] right after 'the NOUN'. (여 + 는 => 여기는)