Start Learning Korean in the next 30 Seconds with
a Free Lifetime Account

Or sign up using Facebook

Too Old For This

trutherous
Expert on Something

Too Old For This

Postby trutherous » February 15th, 2011 2:30 pm

I was just thinking yesterday about the long strange strange road learning Korean has been. I must be getting too old for this.

I started Learning Korean back in 1982, probably before most of you reading this were born. There were no cell phones, no DVDs, and no Internet as we know them today. If you were very lucky you could find some decent tape recordings. In 1983 I moved into a Korean boarding house in the Los Angeles area and lived and went to church with Koreans full time. This was easy for me because I had no other real family, so to speak, so Koreans became my family. In late 1984 I first visited Korea for 3 months, then by late 1985 I could read and communicate, albeit awkwardly, in Korean. In 1986 I took the only available college level class in my area, an introduction and basic grammar course.
Notice the date of this document? But learning grammar and speaking a language (as any Korean learning English has painfully learned) are vastly different, In real life people do not adhere to grammatical rules or textbook pronunciation, and often what people 'think' they are saying is not that same as the sound actually coming out of their mouth or heard by the listener.